The lower house of Parliament, the National Assembly, consists of 350 to 400 members who are elected by popular vote to serve 5-year terms.

The upper house, the National Council of Provinces, has 90 members with 10 members elected by each of the nine provincial legislatures for five-year terms.

The president, chosen by the National Assembly from among its members, is the head of state and government.

He/She is usually the leader of the largest party. The President is the also commander-in-chief of the armed forces, declares war or peace and appoints the Cabinet.

The current president is Cyril Ramaphosa.
Cyril Ramapahosa was elected president with 57% of the votes, which allowed his party (ANC) to maintain absolute majority.